Champions: History Of Manchester United

Champions: History Of Manchester United

You probably love Manchester United, but have you ever heard their history? Established in 1878, the Manchester United Club has existed for more than 135 years. Originally referred to as Newton Heath L&YR Football Club, the manager changed the name to Manchester United in 1902. Manchester United began winning the first of their 20 league titles in 1908.

The Later 1940s

Manchester’s success returned in 1948 when their victory led to winning the FA Cup. This followed immediately after World War II. In the 1950s, Manchester’s success on the field grew when Sir Matt Busby became the manager of Manchester United. He helped build a nationally-acclaimed team that fans called the Busby Babes.

Tragedy Strikes in 1958

A tragic plane crash in February of 1958 ended when eight members of Manchester’s players died, which was more than half the team. The world watched in horror as global support poured out from the fans. Busby helped to galvanize the team through popular players such as:

  • Bobby Charlton
  • George Best
  • Denis Law

However, Manchester did not rebuild their club fully until the culmination of victories that led to Manchester going to the 1968 European Cup final. Manchester United won the prestige and were the first team in England to win the title.

New Manager in 1986 

Manchester designated management to Sir Alex Ferguson in 1986, and in 1990, they triumphed and received the FA Cup. This was the beginning of blowout successes that have continued into the present. Manchester United has won 13 times at the Premier League since 1992. In addition, they carry an impressive record of almost 20 English League titles. This includes:

  • Four League Cups
  • One FIFA Club World Cup
  • 11 FA Cups
  • Three European Champions Cups

As a result of the continuous victories, Manchester has become one of the most popular and successful teams in England.

Season of 2012-2013

Sir Alex Ferguson went into retirement at the end of the 2012 to 2013 season. Despite retirement, Sir Alex has preserved his status as a pinnacle member of Manchester United, and he directs Manchester United FC. In the 2013 to 2014 season, David Moyes became the manager, but he departed April of 2014. When it happened, Ryan Giggs stepped up as the interim manager.

Louis van Gaal Becomes the New Team Manager

Things were not looking good without a team manager, but on May 19th, 2014, Louis van Gaal signed a three-year contract and became the new team manager. Managing the top ranks in European football for more than 20 years, Gaal has helped his teams win domestic cups and domestic titles across three countries. He has also won the UEFA Cup, the UEFA Champions League and the Intercontinental Cup. When the FIFA World Cup ended in 2014, Louis took post as the new manager.

From the beginning, Manchester United has carried a proud significance to the European football league. They have tasted countless victories, and it is worth witnessing a victory for yourself with live tickets. Manchester United matches are filled with excitement. Under the management of Sir Matt Busby, Manchester United became referred to as the Red Devils. They are based in Old Trafford, England and play in the premier league.